Nas // Illmatic: Live From The Kennedy Center - Vinylmnky


Nas // Illmatic: Live From The Kennedy Center

Mass Appeal


Illmatic is only nine actual songs (not counting opener “The Genesis"), and while it was reportedly released in haste to combat the rampant bootlegging of an early version, it’s no less heavy a listen. Its first single, “Halftime,” appears on the soundtrack of the 1992 film Zebrahead and, coupled with his “Live at the Barbeque” verse, positioned Nas as hip-hop's next great MC, well before an album was ready. With Illmatic, Nas' poetic aptitude reveals itself, the MC introducing turns of phrase and perspective previously unheard within the art form. “My mic check is life or death, breathing a sniper's breath/I exhale the yellow smoke of buddha through righteous steps/Deep like The Shining, sparkle like a diamond/Sneak a Uzi on the island in my army jacket lining,” he spits on “It Ain’t Hard to Tell.”


Release Date:  6/15/2022

Track Listing
  1. The Genesis
  2. N.Y. State of Mind
  3. Life's a B*tch (Feat. AZ & Olu Dara)
  4. The World Is Yours
  5. Halftime
  6. Memory Lane (Sittin' in da Park)
  7. One Love (Feat. Q-Tip)
  8. One Time 4 Your Mind
  9. Represent
  10. It Ain't Hard to Tell

    Category: Album, Hip Hop, Nas, Rap