Andy Irvine / Paul Brady (Purple Vinyl) - Vinylmnky


Andy Irvine / Paul Brady (Purple Vinyl)

Compass Records Group


Limited 180gm purple colored vinyl LP pressing. Digitally remastered edition. Compass Records Group is announcing the special edition release of the Mulligan Records classic Andy Irvine / Paul Brady. Long thought of as one of the seminal releases in the Irish music cannon, the album has been praised by artists such as Bob Dylan (who recorded Paul Brady's arrangement of "Arthur McBride And The Sergeant"), Bono, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Liam O'Maonlai (Hothouse Flowers), and Radie Peat and Daragh Lynch (both of Lankum). In 1976, Andy Irvine and Paul Brady, fresh from the demise of the Irish supergroup Planxty, entered legendary Rockfield Studios in Wales with mystic producer/bouzouki player Dónal Lunny and fiddler Kevin Burke to record what has become an Irish Music classic. Andy Irvine / Paul Brady propelled them to be viewed as one of the most accomplished Irish traditional duos that have ever recorded. All these years later perhaps no record more pointedly reflects the time and the spirit of innovation within one genre of music. Remastered from the original analog tapes, which were transferred at 192k/32 bit to maintain the highest resolution, mastered with the best combination of classic analog and state of the art digital equipment. Include a 12,000 word essay by noted music journalist Gareth Murphy (Cowboys and Indies - The Epic History of the Record Industry and Siren Song: My Life in Music [with Seymour Stein]), and include interviews with Andy Irvine, Paul Brady, Dónal Lunny and Kevin Burke, as well as testimonials from artists including Glen Hansard, Liam O'Maonlai, Brian MacGloinn of Ye Vagabonds, Daragh Lynch of Lankum, Consuelo Nerea Breschi and Lucie Azconaga of Varo, PJ Curtis and more.

Release Date:  3/4/2022

Track Listing
  1. Plains of Kildare
  2. Lough Erne Shore
  3. Fred Finn's Reel/Sailing Into Walpole's Marsh
  4. Bonny Woodhall
  5. Arthur McBride and the Sergeant
  6. The Jolly Soldier/The Blarney Pilgrim
  7. Autumn Gold
  8. Mary and the Soldier
  9. The Streets of Derry
  10. Martinmas Time/The Little Stack of Wheat

    Category: Album, Andy Irvine, Folk