Bobby Pickett // The Original Monster Mash (Deluxe Edition) - vinylmnky


Bobby Pickett // The Original Monster Mash (Deluxe Edition)



Limited purple vinyl LP pressing. The Original Monster Mash is an album by Bobby (Boris) Pickett and The Crypt-Kickers, and is considered a classic when it comes to Halloween music. It was recorded and released in late 1962, following the success of Pickett's "Monster Mash" single. Continuing with its soundtrack reissue campaign, UMe reissues this classic on purple vinyl for the first time. Includes the title track alongside other horror-ific titles like ‘Bella’s Bash’, ‘Blood Bank Blues’, ‘Skully Gully’, ‘Irresistible Igor’, ‘Transylvania Twist’, and ‘Monster Mash Party’. Pickett co-wrote ‘Monster Mash’ with Leonard Capizzi in May 1962. The song was a spoof on the dance crazes popular at the time, including the Twist and the Mashed Potato, which inspired the title. The song featured Pickett's impersonations of veteran horror stars Boris Karloff and Bela Lugosi (the latter with the line "Whatever happened to my Transylvania Twist?"). It was passed on by every major record label, but after hearing the song, Gary S. Paxton agreed to produce and engineer it; among the musicians who played on it was pianist Leon Russell. Issued on Paxton's Garpax Records, the single became a million seller, reaching #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart for two weeks before Halloween in 1962.


Track Listing

  1. Monster Mash
  2. Rabian - The Fiendage Idol
  3. Blood Bank Blues
  4. Graveyard Shift
  5. Skully Gully
  6. Wolfbane
  7. Monster Minuet
  8. Transylvania Twist
  9. Sinister Stomp
  10. Me and My Mummy
  11. Monster Motion
  12. Monster Mash Party
  13. Irresistible Igor
  14. Bellas' Bash
  15. Let's Fly Away

Release Date: 10/2/2015

Category: Album, Bobby Pickett, Pop

Frame your vinyl