Duran Duran // Duran Duran - vinylmnky


Duran Duran // Duran Duran

Warner Music Group


Duran Duran's eponymous debut artfully coalesced the sonic and stylistic elements of the burgeoning new romantic movement they were soon to spearhead: pumping synths, glossy production, and seemingly impossible haircuts. Ultra-smart singles like "Girls on Film" and "Planet Earth" became instant smash hits both in the U.K. and America, and other fine pop gems such as "Anyone Out There" and "Careless Memories" rounded out the album's stellar first side. - Side two (disc two) was a far more experimental and revealing affair, with primary songwriter Nick Rhodes leading the band through atmospheric mood-pieces like "Night Boat," "Sound of Thunder," and the instrumental "Tel Aviv," all of which are particularly reminiscent of mid-era Roxy Music (clearly one of Duran's biggest influences).

Track Listing

  1. Girls on Film (2010 Remastered Version)
  2. Planet Earth (2010 Remastered Version)
  3. Anyone Out There (2010 Remastered Version)
  4. To the Shore (2010 Remastered Version)
  5. Careless Memories (2010 Remastered Version)
  6. Night Boat (2010 Remastered Version)
  7. Sound of Thunder (2010 Remastered Version)
  8. Friends of Mine (2010 Remastered Version)
  9. Tel Aviv (2010 Remastered Version)
  10. Planet Earth (Night Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
  11. Girls on Film (Extended Night Version)
  12. Planet Earth (Night Mix) [2010 Remastered Version]
  13. Girls on Film (Night Mix)

Release Date: 2/23/2016

Category: Album, Duran Duran, Pop

Frame your vinyl

Don't miss a beat.

The newest vinyl releases delivered directly to you.