Empress Of // Us - Vinylmnky


Empress Of // Us

Terrible Records


2018 release from Empress Of AKA singer/songwriter Lorely Rodriguez. Empress Of's debut album Me was released in 2015. As the name suggests, it presented a personal exploration of her emotional world. So personal, she says, it was difficult to perform. With Us, Rodriguez wanted to facilitate a more equal exchange of energy between herself and her listeners, to create a "community." "It's not just love songs. It's about different experiences of the heart," she says. "I want it to be like a mirror, and [the audience] sees a little bit of themselves in every song." Lorely's stage name was inspired by a tarot card reading she did with a friend: "The first card he pulled out was an Empress card and I was like, 'It's me, I am Empress.' [...] the Empress card is connected to fertility and mothering and strength. It's kind of nice to have those feelings."


Track Listing

  1. Everything to Me
  2. Just the Same
  3. Trust Me Baby
  4. Love for Me
  5. I Don't Even Smoke Weed
  6. Timberlands
  7. I've Got Love
  8. All For Nothing
  9. When I'm with Him
  10. Again

Release Date: 10/19/2018

Category: Album, Empress Of, Rock