Faust // Faust IV

Sale price$ 37.99
Sold out


Perhaps the most straightforward work ever released by this notoriously anarchic group, Faust IV is arguably the definitive document of the German underground rock scene of the early '70s. Though the album lacks the transgressive forays into tape collage and noise that made Faust’s early work so startling, it contains superlative examples of almost every musical style to fall under the Krautrock banner. The breathtaking opening track neatly borrows Neu’s motorik drive, while the ambient organ drone of “Lauft… Heisst…” recalls the dreamy atmospherics of groups like Tangerine Dream and Popol Vuh. But these similarities to other German groups never cause Faust IV to sound derivative; instead the album is a brilliantly condensed embodiment of one of the most exciting eras of German music. Sadly, recording sessions for Faust IV were beset by a series of conflicts between Faust, label-head Richard Branson and producer Uwe Nettelbeck that would eventually cause key members to split from the group. Faust IV stands as the final production of this seminal band’s most fruitful period.


Release Date:  11/3/2009

Track Listing
  1. Krautrock
  2. The Sad Skinhead
  3. Jennifer
  4. Just a Second (Starts Like That!)
  5. Picnic on a Frozen River
  6. Giggy Smile
  7. Lauft...Heisst Das Es Lauft Oder Es Kommt Bald... Lauft
  8. It's a Bit of a Pain

    Fast & Reliable Shipping

    Enjoy lightning speed delivery with top-of-the-line vinyl mailers.

    Customer Service

    Reliable customer service to ensure you're taken care of.

    Secure Payment

    Your payment information is processed securely.

    The high quality packaging really showed that Vinylmnky cares about how your record arrives.

    Lou - Vail, CO

    Prompt with any questions asked, fast, reliable shipping with a tracking number and high quality records.

    Brandon - Akron, OH

    It's really a fantastic way for collectors to build their library and discover new music that maybe you wouldn't normally listen to.

    Carli - Denver, CO