Grateful Dead // Three From The Vault - Vinylmnky


Grateful Dead // Three From The Vault

Future Days Recording


(4LP Set) Following on the heels of Light In The Attic’s vinyl LP release of One and Two From The Vault comes the final release in the trilogy of From The Vault releases by the Grateful Dead. These releases are distinguished from the more abundant Dick’s Picks series in that Dick’s Picks are “direct from the soundboard” recordings, while the From The Vault series were professionally recorded on multi-track tape and then mixed down (decades) later for release.

Recorded live at the Capitol Theatre (Port Chester, NY) in 1971, this is the worldwide vinyl debut release of this seminal show featuring the 5 piece line-up of Pigpen, Garcia, Weir, Lesh, and Kruetzmann (Mickey Hart had temporarily left the band at that point), freshly remastered in 2014 by Joe Gastwirt for your pleasure. 

The band played six shows over the course of seven nights at the Capitol Theatre in February of 1971, and this was the second of that run, recorded on the 19th. Their previous two studio albums had been their landmark recordings of Workingman’s Dead and American Beauty, and while songs from those albums were certainly featured, the Dead debuted seven brand new songs on this night–all of which went on to become Dead “standards” including “Playing in the Band,” “Greatest Story Ever Told,” and two absolute classics: “Bird Song” and “Deal.” Essential Dead.

Release Date:  5/6/2022 (Pushed From 4/15/2022)

Track Listing
  1. Two Ditties: "The Merry-Go-Round Broke Down", "Spring Song”

  2. Truckin

  3. Loser

  4. Cumberland Blues

  5. It Hurts Me Too

  6. Bertha

  7. Playing in the Band

  8. Deal

  9. Dark Hollow

  10. Smokestack Lightning

  11. China Cat Sunflower

  12. I Know You Rider

  13. Greatest Story Ever Told

  14. Johnny B. Goode

  15. Bird Song

  16. Easy Wind

  17. That's It For The Other One: I "Cryptical Envelopment" II "Drums" III "The Other One"

  18. Wharf Rat

  19. Good Lovin'

  20. Casey Jones

      Category: Album, Grateful Dead, Rock