John Coltrane // Trane: The Atlantic Collection - Vinylmnky


John Coltrane // Trane: The Atlantic Collection

Warner Music Group


Vinyl LP pressing. Digitally remastered edition of this introduction to John Coltrane's revered Atlantic recordings. Trane: The Atlantic Collection includes the hit single 'My Favorite Things,' the iconic 'Giant Steps, Naimi' and more, from the heavyweight champion of the jazz world. The album features unique artwork, audio remastered for this release, and a new liner notes essay by Ben Ratliff, former NY Times jazz critic and author of the 2007 biography Coltrane: The Story of a Sound. Working in the bebop and hard bop idioms early in his career, Coltrane helped pioneer the use of modes in jazz and was later at the forefront of free jazz. As his career progressed, Coltrane and his music took on an increasingly spiritual dimension. Coltrane influenced innumerable musicians, and remains one of the most significant saxophonists in music history.

Track Listing

  1. My Favorite Things, PT 1 (Single Version) [Remastered]
  2. Like Sonny
  3. Cousin Mary
  4. Giant Steps
  5. Central Park West
  6. Equinox
  7. Naima
  8. My Shining Hour
  9. Mr. Syms

Release Date: 6/9/2017

Category: Album, Jazz, John Coltrane, R&B