Khruangbin // Mordechai Remixes - Vinylmnky


Khruangbin // Mordechai Remixes

Dead Oceans


Albert Goldman "A good remix is when the remixer's sonic fingerprint is present, without sounding forced. It should feel like it's own story, with at least some of the same characters as the original." Khruangbin The art of the remix has been around for several decades, from the fervid imaginations of JA pioneers like Coxsone Dodd, Duke Reid or King Tubby to the disco enthusiasts of New York, such as Tom Moulton, who bequeathed us the modern iteration of the remix and provided a template from which most remixers still work. Moulton's first commercial remix, a reworking of BT Express' appropriately-named 'Do It 'Till You're Satisfied', which stretched it from three minutes to a luxurious five, assisted the band in securing it's first Billboard R&B Number One, as well as providing a pathway for remixers like Walter Gibbons, Larry Levan, Richie Rivera and Tee Scott, to completely reinvent the concept of a remix (and in some instances, deconstructing the idea of what comprised a song). It has subsequently been used as a marketing tool, a dancefloor-devastator, a gimmick (both cheap and expensive) or even as a way of reaching a different audience (think Tori Amos' 'Professional Widow'). Khruangbin are no slouches when it comes to the remix themselves.


Release Date:  10/29/2021

Track Listing
  1. Father Bird, Mother Bird (Sunbirds)
  2. Connaissais de Face (Tiger?)
  3. Dearest Alfred (Myjoy)
  4. First Class (Soul in the Horn Remix)
  5. If There Is No Question (Soul Clap's Wild, But Not Crazy Mix)
  6. Pelota (Cut a Rug Mix)
  7. Time (You and I) (Put a Smile on DJ's Face Mix)
  8. Shida (Bella Suite)
  9. So We Won't Forget (Mang Dynasty Version)
  10. One to Remember (Forget Me Nots Dub)

                        Category: Album, Khruangbin, Rock