Plains // I Walked With You A Ways - Vinylmnky


Plains // I Walked With You A Ways


Release Date:  10/14/2022


Vinyl LP pressing. 2022 release. Hitting play on the debut album from Plains, the duo composed of Waxahatchee's Katie Crutchfield and Jess Williamson, we're immediately teleported into a world of Southern sunsets, wide open spaces, and the unapologetic nature of Country music. Written between Kansas City, Los Angeles, and Marfa, the album was recorded in Durham, NC with collaborator and producer Brad Cook. The creative magic of only a few vocal takes, tracking with a band comprised of Spencer Tweedy and Phil Cook, gives the album a feel of fresh, on-the-spot conception. The trust and history of Crutchfield and Cook's collaborations (Saint Cloud, Great Thunder EP) set the tone for this new container of spontaneity and experimentation. And that's the thing about Country music, and what so much of this album nods to - from Waylon and Willie, to The Judds, The Chicks, Trio, and beyond - these are groups that are formed out of family and friendship, that lyrically take their listeners on a voyage of sorrow and hope. Crutchfield's sharp, honest edge of truth telling paired with Williamson's ability to paint the scene with candles, plains, sunsets, and small Texas towns is one of the strongest parts of this album.

Track Listing
  1. Summer Sun
  2. Problem with It
  3. Line of Sight
  4. Abilene
  5. Hurricane
  6. Bellafatima
  7. Last 2 on Earth
  8. Easy
  9. No Record of Wrongs
  10. I Walked with You a Ways

    Category: Album, Indie Rock, Plains, Rock