Sturgill Simpson // Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 2 (Blue With White Swirl Vinyl) - vinylmnky


Sturgill Simpson // Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 2 (Blue With White Swirl Vinyl)

Cowboy Arms Sessions


Due to previous issues with Sturgill Simpson stock, we'll be limiting this release to one per customer.

We've listened to you, and now allow refunds/cancellations on pre-ordered albums. If you have any questions, please reach out!


Just a few weeks after the surprise release of the Cuttin' Grass (Vol. 1): Butcher Shoppe Sessions album—which Uproxx called “the most sublime and delightful music he’s yet made on record”—Sturgill Simpson returns with the next installment of his bluegrass series, Cuttin' Grass (Vol. 2): The Cowboy Arms Sessions. The genre-defying singer/songwriter reconvened an A-Team of acoustic players (now dubbed "The Hillbilly Avengers") for another round of reinterpretations of his catalog, this time largely focusing on 2016's A Sailor's Guide to Earth, which won the Grammy for Country Album of the Year and was nominated for Album of the Year. This volume also includes "Jesus Boogie," originally performed by Simpson's first band, Sunday Valley, and two previously unreleased songs, "Tennessee" and "Hobo Cartoon," the latter of which was co-written with the incomparable Merle Haggard—who once said that Simpson was "about the only thing I've heard that was worth listening to in a long time."

Release Date:  4/2/2021

Track Listing
  1. Call To Arms
  2. Brace For Impact (Live a Little)
  3. Oh Sara
  4. Sea Stories
  5. Hero
  6. Welcome to the Earth (Pollywog)
  7. Jesus Boogie
  8. Keep It Between the Lines
  9. You Can Have the Crown
  10. Tennessee
  11. Some Days
  12. Hobo Cartoon

    Category: Album, Sturgill Simpson

    Frame your vinyl