Sturgill Simpson // The Battle of Dood & Juanita - Vinylmnky


Sturgill Simpson // The Battle of Dood & Juanita

Thirty Tigers

Indie Exclusive


Inspired by such classic concept albums as Willie Nelson's Red-Headed Stranger, Sturgill Simpson's The Ballad of Dood & Juanita is the Grammy-winning singer/songwriter's third album in twelve months, and his most ambitious project to date. Written and recorded in less than a week, and featuring the same ace musicians who played on 2020's Cuttin' Grass albums, the record tells a classic American story of a Civil War-era couple torn apart by violence and reunited by love - what Sturgill calls "a simple tale of either redemption or revenge." The Ballad of Dood & Juanita is Simpson's first album of all new original music since the release of 2019's Grammy-nominated Sound & Fury. This new collection of songs was produced by Sturgill and David Ferguson and was recorded in Nashville at the Cowboy Arms Hotel and Recording Spa. Special guest Willie Nelson is the featured lead guitarist on the track "Juanita."


Release Date:  2/25/2022

Track Listing
  1. Prologue
  2. Ol' Dood (Part I)
  3. One in the Saddle, One on the Ground
  4. Shamrock
  5. Played Out
  6. Sam
  7. Juanita (Featuring Willie Nelson)
  8. Go in Peace
  9. Epilogue
  10. Ol' Dood (Part II)

    Category: Album, Country/Folk, Sturgill Simpson