Superchunk // Here's to Shutting Up (with CD)

Sale price$ 20.99


From Mac McCaughan of Superchunk: To write the songs for Here's to Shutting Up, we gathered in Jim's garage (he lived way out in the woods) a couple times a week for what seemed like months. We started from actual scratch with no demos or concepts, just playing instrumental music with our usual gear plus a Casio.

We recorded the album in the Cabbagetown neighborhood of Atlanta at Zero Return, the studio built by Brian and Rob (aka Birdstuff and Coco the Electronic Monkey Wizard) of Man or Astro-man? Brian Paulson came with us to produce it. Here's to Shutting Up was meant to be released on September 18, 2001. On September 11, the world changed. Our release date moved a couple weeks, but our tour dates remained and we flew to Japan in October. It was a WILD time to be traveling the world. Receptions ranged from "thank you for giving us something else to think about" to "why are you here?" We flew home from Japan and left for the UK the day the US started bombing Afghanistan. This was the climate, and the climate was not great for playing rock music.


Release Date:  10/22/2021

Track Listing
Disc 1:
      1. Late-Century Dream
      2. Rainy Streets
      3. Phone Sex
      4. Florida's on Fire
      5. Out on the Wing
      6. The Animal Has Left It's Shell
      7. Act Surprised
      8. Art Class (Song for Yayoi Kusama)
      9. What Do You Look Forward To?
      10. Drool Collection
      Disc 2:
      1. Late-Century Dream
      2. Rainy Streets
      3. The Hot Break
      4. Florida's on Fire
      5. Act Surprised
      6. A Collection of Accounts
      7. Art Class (Song for Yayoi Kusama)
      8. Flying Aka Out on the Wing
      9. Becoming a Speck
      10. Frank's Bath Aka Phone Sex
      11. The Animal Has Left It's Shell
      12. Corp Song Aka What Do You Look Forward To?
      13. Drool Collection

      Fast & Reliable Shipping

      Enjoy lightning speed delivery with top-of-the-line vinyl mailers.

      Customer Service

      Reliable customer service to ensure you're taken care of.

      Secure Payment

      Your payment information is processed securely.

      The high quality packaging really showed that Vinylmnky cares about how your record arrives.

      Lou - Vail, CO

      Prompt with any questions asked, fast, reliable shipping with a tracking number and high quality records.

      Brandon - Akron, OH

      It's really a fantastic way for collectors to build their library and discover new music that maybe you wouldn't normally listen to.

      Carli - Denver, CO